How Much are DUI Fines in SC

After a few drinks, you thought you were OK to drive home. That’s when the unexpected happens.

You’re pulled over for a DUI.

As the blue lights flash in your rearview mirror, all of the fun that led up to that moment is replaced with regret and consequences.

In South Carolina, a DUI arrest and conviction has several legal ramifications and can even have fines that put a major hit on your wallet.

These fines depend on two variables: your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) at the time of the arrest and the number of offenses on your records.

First Offense:

For a person's first offense, refusing to take the Datamaster test will cause a $400 fine, the same for having a BAC less than 0.10. If your BAC is over 0.10 but less than 0.16, the fine increases to $500. Anything more than 0.16 will earn a $1,000 fine.

Second Offense:

Fines dramatically increase on a second offense DUI. Refusing to take the Breathalyzer or having a BAC less than 0.10 will cost you $2,100 to $5100. Unlike the first offense, the fine associated with having a BAC over .10 but less than .16 range from $2,500 to 5,500. And a BAC over 0.16 will have a fine amount range of $3,500 to 6,500.

Third Offense:

The fines for a third offense can range from $3,800 to $6,300 for refusing to take the test or having a BAC less than 0.10. With a BAC of more than 0.10 and less than 0.16, the fines range from $5,000 to 7,500. For a BAC greater than 0.16, fines start at $7,500 and can go as high as $10,000.

Other Consequences to Consider

In addition to paying a range of fines, the South Carolina DUI Law also dictates how long your drivers’ license will be suspended -- from 6 months to permanent loss, depending on the number of offenses.

A DUI charge or conviction in SC could also mean anywhere from 48 hours to five years in jail.

Summary of SC DUI Fines

*BAC =’s Blood Alcohol Content

Offense

Refused to blow

BAC less than .10

BAC is .10 but less than .16

BAC is .16 or more

DUI 1st

$400 fine

$400 fine

$500 fine

$1,000 fine

DUI 2nd

$2,100 fine

$2,100 to $5100 fine

$2,500 to $5,500 fine

$3,500 to $6,500

DUI 3rd

$3,800 to $6,300 fine

$3,800 to $6,300 fine

$5,000 to $7,500 fine

$7,500 to $10,000

Should you speak with an attorney?

While this post may have answered some of your questions, it's likely you still have more. Find an DUI attorney that has handled numerous DUI cases and can bring that experience to your case.

Get The Help You Deserve

There are many uncertainties, and you need a trusted adviser.

Contact Me